Skip to main content

Bibliographic Tools and Styles: RefWorks

What is RefWorks?

When exporting citations from the CINAHL database you will be presented to use two options; please use ProQuest ReWorks. This version works better, since the TTUHSC El Paso Library has a current subscription. 

What Is RefWorks?

RefWorks allows users to create personal databases and use them for a variety of research activities. References are quickly and easily imported from text files or online databases. The databases can then be used to manage, store and share the information. Users can automatically insert references from their database into their papers and generate formatted bibliographies and manuscripts in seconds.

Why use a web-based research management system like RefWorks?

RefWorks is accessible at any time from any computer with an internet connection. It can be used with any major web browser on multiple platforms, including Windows, Mac and Unix. References can be imported quickly and easily from many online database systems or created manually, then easily shared online with colleagues.

Installation Instructions

Installation
  • Create a Refworks account using your @ttuhsc.edu email as the user name.
  • Login and choose the correct citation tool:
    • Microsoft Word 2016: Refworks Citation Manager
    • All other Microsoft Word Versions: Write 'n Cite (WNC)
Important
  • Windows Users: Write 'n Cite requires that you have first installed the newest version of Java.
  • Mac Users: Write 'n Cite requires that you download and install Java version 6 (must be this version).

Tutorial Guides and Handouts