Skip to Main Content
Searching for Articles
PubMed is a great place to start, as it's one of the largest biomedical databases. It doesn’t use natural language like a web browser—instead, it relies on Medical Subject Headings (MeSH). Once a term matches a MeSH entry, the search stops and shows results for that term. Because many journal titles are also MeSH terms, they may not be searched correctly by default.
To find a journal title, use Advanced Search and set the field to "Journal."
Articles from the "Journal of Medicinal Chemistry"
Suggested Article Databases
-
Alternatives to Animal Testing This link opens in a new window
From the National Library of Medicine comes a search engine specializing in alternatives to animal testing. This is a great resource for the institutional animal care and use committee (IACUC).
-
Animal Welfare Information Center (AWIC) This link opens in a new window
A useful database to use when completing an The Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee (IACUC).
-
EMBASE This link opens in a new window
Includes over 19 million records from over 7,000 journals, dating back to 1947, and growing each year. Within these records are the most up to date citations and abstracts from drug and biomedical literature via Medline and EMBASE.com.
-
PubMed This link opens in a new window
A heavily used and recognized resource with a multitude of citations from biomedical literature. LinkOut allows users to access the articles from other sources.
-
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
A database of scientific, technical, and medical research with peer reviewed articles, chapters, and some open access content. Features popular articles, recent publications, and encyclopedias.
-
SciFinderⁿ Registration This link opens in a new window
Register for a personal username and password. You must register for a personal account with your TTUHSC email address (@ttuhsc.edu) in order to use SciFinderⁿ even if you are on campus within our authorized IP ranges. This account will be used every time you use SciFinderⁿ.
-
SCOPUS This link opens in a new window
Considered the largest source of research abstracts and citations, with quick and easy to find information.
-
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Find, study, and share research from the fields of science, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
