TTUHSC El Paso Library: Emergency Medicine: Clinical Decision Resources

Point of Care Databases

Cancer.gov This link opens in a new window A resource with up to date information from the National Cancer Institute, the principal federal agency on cancer research. Includes information for health care professionals as well as cancer patients and family.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window A search engine for physicians, targeting the three key research requirements, with comprehensive and trustworthy content.
ClinicalTrials.gov This link opens in a new window A registry of privately and federally supported clinical trials with information and contacts. Any information from this registry should be used in addition to advice from health care professionals.
DynaMed This link opens in a new window A point of care reference tool designed by and for physicians and other health care professionals. Contains nearly 2,000 clinically organized topics.
EBM Reviews: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (COCH) This link opens in a new window From The Cochrane Collaboration comes current and systematic reviews of the effects of health care.
EMBASE This link opens in a new window Includes over 19 million records from over 7,000 journals, dating back to 1947, and growing each year. Within these records are the most up to date citations and abstracts from drug and biomedical literature via Medline and EMBASE.com.
Essential Evidence Plus This link opens in a new window A potent resource containing all medical evidence needed for decisions related to patient care. *Must create a personal profile account to sign in.
PubMed Clinical Queries This link opens in a new window Allows users to find information specifically about etiology, diagnosis, prognosis, and treatment of a particular disease with downloadable formats.
SUMSearch 2 This link opens in a new window Users can search PubMed, DARE, and NGC all at once, with one integrated list of results. This resource was created by Dr. Robert Badgett from the UT Health Sciences Center.
TRIP Pro This link opens in a new window Users can search through high quality clinical evidence from a wide variety of sources.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window A popular database authored and used by physicians, with trusted evidence based information. Nearly 7,000 physicians, editors, and reviewers weed through current medical information to find the most relevant information designed to improve patient care.

EBM resources

JAMAevidence This link opens in a new window Brings together the best available evidence and clinical experience to create evidence based medicine (EBM) that provides clinicians and patients the information they need to make informed health care decisions.

Calculators

Lab Tests

Lab Tests Online This link opens in a new window Designed for patients and family caregivers seeking to better understand clinical lab tests and diagnosis and treatment of many conditions and diseases. Also an excellent quick reference tool for medical professionals.

Clinical laboratory methods : atlas of commonly performed tests by Michael Laposata, Peter McCaffrey.
Publication Date: 2022
Fischbach's A Manual of Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests by Frances Talaska Fischbach; Margaret A. Fischbach
ISBN: 9781496377128
Publication Date: 2017-12-21
Guide to Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests by Rick Daniels
ISBN: 9781285053134
Publication Date: 2014-01-08
Laposata's Laboratory Medicine Diagnosis of Disease in Clinical Laboratory Third Edition by Michael Laposata
ISBN: 9781260116793
Publication Date: 2018-12-25
Mosby's manual of diagnostic and laboratory tests by Kathleen Deska Pagana, Timothy J. Pagana.
ISBN: 9780323446648
Publication Date: 2018
Pediatric Laboratory Medicine by Patricia M. Jones; Dennis J. Dietzen; Shannon Haymond; Michael J. Bennett
ISBN: 9780071840996
Publication Date: 2017-05-24
Wallach's Interpretation of Diagnostic Tests: Pathways to Arriving at a Clinical Diagnosis by L. Michael Snyder; Mary A. Williamson
ISBN: 9781975105594
Publication Date: 2021

Drug Resources

DailyMed This link opens in a new window Provides a standardized, thorough, and current resource on medication content and labeling directed towards the public and health care providers.
Drug Information Portal This link opens in a new window From the National Library of Medicine comes an informative and user friendly portal to information on more than 15,000 drugs, with links to related material from other government agencies.
Lexicomp This link opens in a new window A user friendly database offering time sensitive drug information.
Merative Micromedex This link opens in a new window This actionable information spans drugs, diseases, acute care, toxicology, alternative medicines, as well as a comprehensive tool to educate patients. Having all of this in a clutter-free, easy-to-navigate interface saves clinicians time and promotes best practices.
PEPID Online Medical Software and Drug Database This link opens in a new window Allows all health care professionals to find fast, current, and detailed information on a variety of health care topics to better serve their work needs and patient outcomes.

Poisoning and Drug Overdose, Eighth Edition by Craig Smollin (Editor); Ilene B. Anderson; Neal L. Benowitz; Paul D. Blanc; Susan Y. Kim-Katz; Justin C. Lewis; Alan H. B. Wu; Kent R. Olson (Editor)
ISBN: 9781264259083
Publication Date: 2022-05-06