TTUHSC El Paso Library: Evidence-Based Medicine: Databases

Core Databases

ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window A search engine for physicians, targeting the three key research requirements, with comprehensive and trustworthy content.
Cochrane - See EBM Reviews: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (COCH) This link opens in a new window From The Cochrane Collaboration comes current and systematic reviews of the effects of health care.
DynaMed This link opens in a new window A point of care reference tool designed by and for physicians and other health care professionals. Contains nearly 2,000 clinically organized topics.
EMBASE This link opens in a new window Includes over 19 million records from over 7,000 journals, dating back to 1947, and growing each year. Within these records are the most up to date citations and abstracts from drug and biomedical literature via Medline and EMBASE.com.
Essential Evidence Plus This link opens in a new window A potent resource containing all medical evidence needed for decisions related to patient care.
MICROMEDEX Healthcare Series This link opens in a new window This actionable information spans drugs, diseases, acute care, toxicology, alternative medicines, as well as a comprehensive tool to educate patients. Having all of this in a clutter-free, easy-to-navigate interface saves clinicians time and promotes best practices.
Ovid This link opens in a new window The home page for all of the Ovid databases, which includes full text books and journals, evidence base medicine resources, and bibliographic information.
PEDro: Physiotherapy Evidence Database This link opens in a new window A free database containing more than 17,000 randomized trials, systematic reviews, and clinicial practice guidelines for physiotherapy with citations, abstracts, and sometimes links to the full text. Users can search this database by ratings, helping quickly find the most useful and valid information possible.
PubMed Clinical Queries This link opens in a new window Allows users to find information specifically about etiology, diagnosis, prognosis, and treatment of a particular disease with downloadable formats.
SUMSearch 2 This link opens in a new window Users can search PubMed, DARE, and NGC all at once, with one integrated list of results. This resource was created by Dr. Robert Badgett from the UT Health Sciences Center.
TRIP Pro This link opens in a new window Users can search through high quality clinical evidence from a wide variety of sources.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window A popular database authored and used by physicians, with trusted evidence based information. Nearly 7,000 physicians, editors, and reviewers weed through current medical information to find the most relevant information designed to improve patient care.

Other Useful Databases

Cancer.gov This link opens in a new window A resource with up to date information from the National Cancer Institute, the principal federal agency on cancer research. Includes information for health care professionals as well as cancer patients and family.
ECRI Guidelines Trust This link opens in a new window For nearly 50 years, ECRI Institute, a nonprofit organization, has been dedicated to bringing the discipline of applied scientific research to discover which medical procedures, devices, drugs, and processes are best, all to enable you to improve patient care. We firmly believe that seeking and finding the best ways to improve patient care require "The Discipline of Science" and "The Integrity of Independence."
PubMed This link opens in a new window A heavily used and recognized resource with a multitude of citations from biomedical literature. LinkOut allows users to access the articles from other sources.
SCOPUS This link opens in a new window Considered the largest source of research abstracts and citations, with quick and easy to find information.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window Find, study, and share research from the fields of science, social sciences, arts, and humanities.

Epistemonikos Database
Epistemonikos is a collaborative, multilingual database of health evidence. It is the largest source of systematic reviews relevant for health-decision making, and a large source of other types of scientific evidence.The main aim of Epistemonikos is to gather scientific information (i.e. evidence) that might be relevant for health decision-making, and to provide rapid and reliable access to the best available evidence for real-life questions.