Data and Statistics Research Guide: Diseases

Produced by the National Cancer Institute (NCI). Includes links to: Cancer Mortality Maps and Graphs; Statistics by Cancer Type; Data Sources; Understanding Statistics (includes estimated U.S. cancer prevalence); NCI Research on Childhood Cancers.

"The NCI Cancer Atlas is a tool that allows users to create maps of cancer statistics, demographics, and risk factors...[it] provides access to the following statistics:
- Demographics from the American Community Survey for 2011 to 2015
- SEER Incidence for 2010 to 2014 for the entire United States for available state registries
- US Mortality for 2010 to 2014 for the entire United States
- US Historical Mortality for 1970 to 2009 for the entire United States
- Prevalence from the National Center for Health Statistics for 2017
- Screening and Risk Factors from the BRFSS

Authoritative source of information on cancer incidence and survival in the United States compiled by the National Cancer Institute (NCI).

Includes the official federal statistics on cancer incidence from registries that have high-quality data and cancer mortality statistics for each year and 2001–2005 combined.

Presents the number and rate of injuries and illnesses by industry, additional details on the worker injured, the nature of the disabling condition, and the event and source producing that condition for those cases that involve one or more days away from work, and fatality data. Compiled by the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics.

List of topics compiled by the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Includes data on child abuse, brain injuries, falls among older adults and motor vehicle injuries

Link provides "access to to a range of different data sets dealing with occupational health and statistics.

Maintained by the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. WISQARS provides customized reports of injury-related data.

Statistics on cardiovascular diseases (CVDs) compiled by the World Health Organization (WHO)

"Diabetes Data and Statistics, the Web publication of the US National Diabetes Surveillance System, provides resources documenting the public health burden of diabetes and its complications in the United States."

"The first WHO Global report on diabetes demonstrates that the number of adults living with diabetes has almost quadrupled since 1980 to 422 million adults."

Includes biostatistical fact sheets on selected populations and risk factors; check source notes for original data sources. Compiled by the American Heart Association.

Compiled by the World Health Oragnization (WHO), "[t]he ATLAS on Substance Use provides a structured description of available prevention and treatment resources for substance use disorders in WHO regions, different income economies and the world."

This fact sheet compiled by the World Health Organization (WHO) contains data on the global incidence/prevalence of mental disorders

Compiled by the Substance Abuse & Mental Health Services Administration (SAMSHA), this site includes national statistics on:
- mental health, metal illness and suicide
- alcohol abuse and binge drinking
- smoking
- drug abuse, drug-related emergency room visits
- substance abuse treatment services

ncludes information on drugs of abuse; data tables and figures from the Monitoring the Future study; fact sheets and other online publications. Produced by the National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA).

Statistical data on AIDS compiled by UNAIDS.

Collected data on internationally recognized AIDS indicators and on the capacity of health care facilities to deliver HIV prevention and treatment services. Collected by MEASURE DHS; Funded by U.S. Agency for International Development’s (USAID) Bureau for Global Health (BGH)

Produced by the Centers for Disease Control (CDC). Site links to the following United States data: Basic Statistics (Cumulative AIDS Cases); Surveillance Reports; Populations at Risk; and Trends.

Contains links to epidemiological data and reports regarding HIV/AIDS on a global level.

Detailed information on dental events, including source of payment(s), total payment and total charge, type of provider seen and procedures(s) associated with each dental event. Compiled by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality.

Lists the oral health objectives for the Healthy People 2020 initiative. Select "Expand All Objectives" to see the baseline data that is available for each objective listed.

Contains statistics on oral health indicators, including: Dental Visit, Teeth Cleaning, Complete Tooth Loss, Lost 6 or More Teeth, Fluoridation Status, Dental Sealants, Caries Experience, Untreated Tooth Decay, and Cancer of the Oral Cavity and Pharynx. Compiled by the
National Oral Health Surveillance System (NOHSS).

Presents national- and State-level information on the health and well-being of children and their use of health services, including oral health and dental care. Produced by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Health Resources and Services Administration, Maternal and Child Health Bureau.

Provides links to a federal web sites containing data related to oral and craniofacial health. Compiled by the National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research (NIDCR).