Skip to Main Content
Essential Databases
AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
An ever changing and ever expanding resource for all health care professionals and students. With daily updates, the user can get trusted answers to clinical questions with easy to use digital formatting.
AccessPharmacy This link opens in a new window
Students can search a broad range of pharmacy textbooks, lab tests, videos, and other curricular material related to the evolving world of pharmacy education.
AccessSurgery This link opens in a new window
Based around the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) for curriculum. Provides medical students, surgical residents, and practicing surgeons and resource for answers to current and relevant answers from trusted sources.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
A search engine for physicians, targeting the three key research requirements, with comprehensive and trustworthy content.
EMBASE This link opens in a new window
Includes over 19 million records from over 7,000 journals, dating back to 1947, and growing each year. Within these records are the most up to date citations and abstracts from drug and biomedical literature via Medline and EMBASE.com.
Gideon Online This link opens in a new window
The Global Infectious Disease and Epidemiology Online Network (GIDEON) is a user friendly and comprehensive data tool to navigate a vast database of infectious diseases.
Natural Medicines This link opens in a new window
An international collaboration of researchers bringing together data on alternative and complementary therapies created with evidence based, consensus based, and peer reviewed information.
Ovid This link opens in a new window
The home page for all of the Ovid databases, which includes full text books and journals, evidence base medicine resources, and bibliographic information.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
A heavily used and recognized resource with a multitude of citations from biomedical literature. LinkOut allows users to access the articles from other sources.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Find, study, and share research from the fields of science, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
Clinical Decision Support Tools
DynaMed This link opens in a new window
A point of care reference tool designed by and for physicians and other health care professionals. Contains nearly 2,000 clinically organized topics.
EBM Reviews: Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CCTR) This link opens in a new window
From the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (formerly known as Cochrane Controlled Trials Register) come a database of controlled trials.
EBM Reviews: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (COCH) This link opens in a new window
From The Cochrane Collaboration comes current and systematic reviews of the effects of health care.
EMBASE This link opens in a new window
Includes over 19 million records from over 7,000 journals, dating back to 1947, and growing each year. Within these records are the most up to date citations and abstracts from drug and biomedical literature via Medline and EMBASE.com.
Essential Evidence Plus This link opens in a new window
A potent resource containing all medical evidence needed for decisions related to patient care.
*Must create a personal profile account to sign in.
JAMAevidence This link opens in a new window
Brings together the best available evidence and clinical experience to create evidence based medicine (EBM) that provides clinicians and patients the information they need to make informed health care decisions.
The Medical Letter This link opens in a new window
Based on the data from The Medical Letter's Handbook of Adverse Drug Interactions comes a quick reference on the possible effects of drug interactions and some recommended actions.
PubMed Clinical Queries This link opens in a new window
Allows users to find information specifically about etiology, diagnosis, prognosis, and treatment of a particular disease with downloadable formats.
SUMSearch 2 This link opens in a new window
Users can search PubMed, DARE, and NGC all at once, with one integrated list of results. This resource was created by Dr. Robert Badgett from the UT Health Sciences Center.
TRIP Pro This link opens in a new window
Users can search through high quality clinical evidence from a wide variety of sources.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
A popular database authored and used by physicians, with trusted evidence based information. Nearly 7,000 physicians, editors, and reviewers weed through current medical information to find the most relevant information designed to improve patient care.
Drug Information - Databases
DailyMed This link opens in a new window
Provides a standardized, thorough, and current resource on medication content and labeling directed towards the public and health care providers.
DrugBank Online This link opens in a new window
A unique cheminformatics and bioinformatics resource that brings together thorough drug information and detailed drug target data.
Drug Information Portal This link opens in a new window
From the National Library of Medicine comes an informative and user friendly portal to information on more than 15,000 drugs, with links to related material from other government agencies.
Electronic Orange Book: Approved Drug Products with Therapeutic Equivalence Evaluations This link opens in a new window
A searchable database of approved drugs which is updated as the annual edition of cumulative supplements is published.
epocrates+ This link opens in a new window
A practical and patient centered approach to point of care, with peer reviewed content aimed at providing answers, not more questions.
Lexicomp This link opens in a new window
A user friendly database offering time sensitive drug information.
Merative Micromedex This link opens in a new window
This actionable information spans drugs, diseases, acute care, toxicology, alternative medicines, as well as a comprehensive tool to educate patients. Having all of this in a clutter-free, easy-to-navigate interface saves clinicians time and promotes best practices.
Library Resources & Services
