Skip to Main Content
Free Images
- American Society of Hematology (ASH) Image Bank
- Bassett Collection of Stereoscopic Images of Human Anatomy
Dr. Bassett and William Gruber collaborated on a 17-year project of creating 3-D photographic images of human anatomy using innovations in dissection pioneered by Dr. Bassett. Photographic images and accompanying drawings were compiled into a 24-volume Stereoscopic Atlas of Human Anatomy. These images in this collection are derived from the Atlas project.
- Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
DPDx Parasite Image Library
- Health Education Assets Library (HEAL)
- Images from the History of Medicine (IHM)
Over 70,000 images from the historical collections of the U.S. National Library of Medicine dating from the 15th to 21st century.
- MedPix®
Is an online database of medical images, teaching cases and clinical topics. also provides free AMA Category 1 CME credits online. This website also provides free AMA Category 1 CME credits online.
- National Cancer Institute - Visuals Online
Images from the collections of the Office of Communications and Public Liaison, National Cancer Institute.
- National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health - Image Gallery
Image gallery contains digital photographs from the NCCIH. Images can be searched by treatment, category, and by medical systems.
-
National Human Genome Research Institute - Image Gallery
The NHGRI Image Gallery provides imagery related to the genomics research, people, and programs of the institute. Unless otherwise noted, images are in the public domain and may be used, linked or reproduced without permission.
-
National Institute of General Medical Science - Image & Video Gallery
Collection of scientific photos, illustrations, and videos. The images and videos in this gallery are licensed under Creative Commons Attribution Non-Commercial ShareAlike 3.0.
- National Institutes of Health - Image Gallery
The NIH image gallery provides images that are free to use with credit.
- National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases (NIDDK) Media Library
-
OPENi - Open Access Biomedical Image Search Engine
Multimedia search engine that retrieves and displays MEDLINE citations augmented by image-related text and concepts and linked to images based on image features.
-
- The Medical Heritage Library
The MHL; a collaboration among some of the world's leading medical libraries, which promotes free and open access quality historical resources in medicine such as texts, movies, audios, images, etc.
- The NIH Almanac - Photo Galleries
Collection includes images from the 27 institutes and centers that comprise the NIH, images of presidential visits to the NIH from 1940 to present, images of buildings on the main NIH campus, and a collection of black-and-white images dating back to 1887.
